FIFA World Cup Records

Posted By Simon on June 22, 2010
in Special Focus

Last day, Portugal routed North Korea 7-0, which is the most one-sided World Cup match since Germany beat Saudi Arabia 8-0 at the 2002 tournament in South Korea and Japan.

Meanwhile, Switzerland set a World Cup mark in the 69th minute by going 551 minutes without allowing a goal, breaking the record of 550 held by Italy at the 1986 and 1990 tournaments.

Actually, in the 80-year history of FIFA World Cup, miracles and wonders are performed on this stage continually.

At present, 2010 FIFA World Cup South Africa is underway like a raging fire, and it is still hard to tell who will emerge victorious at last, and what new records would be set, both of which are also the charm of this sport.

The history of the FIFA World Cup is mixed with joy and depression, while the records of the FIFA World Cup are full of glory and disgrace.

Here is a list of records of the FIFA World Cup you should know:

Most World Cup appearances

19,  Brazil (only country to appear in every World Cup)

Most championships

5,  Brazil

Most meetings between two teams

7 times,  Brazil vs  Sweden (1938, 1950, 1958, 1978, 1990 and twice in 1994) and  Germany vs  Yugoslavia / Serbia (1954, 1958, 1962, 1974, 1990, 1998 and 2010)

Most meetings between two teams, Final match

2 times,  Brazil vs  Italy (1970 & 1994) &  Argentina vs  Germany (1986 & 1990)

Most tournaments played

5, Antonio Carbajal (Mexico, 1950–1966) and Lothar Matthäus (Germany, 1982–1998).

Most championships

3, Pelé (Brazil, 1958, 1962 and 1970).

Most appearances as captain

16, Diego Maradona (Argentina, 1986–1994).

Youngest player

17 years and 41 days, Norman Whiteside (Northern Ireland, vs Yugoslavia, 1982).

Youngest player, final

17 years and 249 days, Pele

Youngest captain

21 years and 109 days, Tony Meola (United States, vs Czechoslovakia, June 10, 1990).[11]

Oldest player

42 years and 39 days, Roger Milla (Cameroon, vs Russia, 1994).

Oldest player, final

40 years and 133 days, Dino Zoff (Italy, vs Germany, 1982).

Oldest captain

40 years and 292 days, Peter Shilton (England, vs Italy, July 7, 1990).

Most goals scored, overall finals

15, Ronaldo (Brazil, 1998–2006).

Most goals scored in a tournament

13, Just Fontaine (France), 1958.

Most goals scored in a match

5, Oleg Salenko (Russia, vs Cameroon, 1994).

Most goals scored in one Final

3, Geoff Hurst (England, vs West Germany, 1966).

Most hat-tricks

2, Sándor Kocsis (Hungary, 1954), Just Fontaine (France, 1958), Gerd Müller (West Germany, 1970), and Gabriel Batistuta (Argentina, 1994 and 1998).

Fastest hat-trick & Most goals scored by a substitute in a match

8 minutes, László Kiss (Hungary), scored at 69′, 72′, and 76′ against El Salvador, 1982.

Youngest goalscorer

17 years and 239 days, Pelé (Brazil, vs Wales, 1958).

Youngest hat-trick scorer

17 years and 244 days, Pelé (Brazil, vs France, 1958).

Youngest goalscorer, final

17 years and 249 days, Pelé (Brazil, vs Sweden, 1958).

Oldest goalscorer

42 years and 39 days, Roger Milla (Cameroon, vs Russia, 1994).

Oldest hat-trick scorer

33 years and 159 days, Tore Keller (Sweden, vs Cuba, 1938).[15]

Oldest goalscorer, final

35 years, 263 days, Nils Liedholm (Sweden, vs Brazil, 1958).

Fastest goal from kickoff

11 seconds, Hakan Şükür (Turkey, vs Korea Republic, June 29, 2002, 2002).

Fastest goal by a substitute

16 seconds, Ebbe Sand (Denmark, vs Nigeria, June 28, 1998, 1998).

Fastest goal in a final

90 seconds, Johan Neeskens (Netherlands, vs West Germany, July 7, 1974, 1974).

Latest goal from kickoff

121st minute, Alessandro Del Piero (Italy vs Germany, July 4, 2006, 2006).

Latest goal from kickoff in a final

120th minute, Geoff Hurst (England vs West Germany 1966).

Longest time for a goal to be scored in a World Cup

198 minutes, Bruno Conti (Italy vs Peru 1982)

Biggest margin of victory

9,  Hungary (9) vs  Korea Republic (0), 1954;  Yugoslavia (9) vs  Zaire (0), 1974;  Hungary (10) vs  El Salvador (1), 1982.

Most goals scored in a match, one team

10,  Hungary, vs El Salvador, 1982.

Most goals scored in a match, both teams

12,  Austria (7) vs  Switzerland (5), 1954.

Highest scoring draw

4–4,  England vs  Belgium (AET), 1954, and  Soviet Union vs  Colombia, 1962.

Most goals scored in a final, one team

5,  Brazil, 1958.

Most goals scored in a final, both teams

7,  Brazil (5) vs.  Sweden (2), 1958.

Most goals in a tournament, one team

27,  Hungary, 1954.

Most matches coached

25, Helmut Schön (West Germany, 1966–1978).

Most matches won

16, Helmut Schön (West Germany, 1966–1978).

Most championships

2, Vittorio Pozzo (Italy, 1934–1938).

Most tournaments

6, Carlos Alberto Parreira (1982, 1990–1998, 2006, 2010).

Most nations coached

5, Bora Milutinović (Mexico, 1986;  Costa Rica, 1990;  United States, 1994;  Nigeria, 1998;  China PR, 2002), and Carlos Alberto Parreira (Kuwait, 1982:  United Arab Emirates, 1990:  Brazil, 1994 and 2006;  Saudi Arabia, 1998;  South Africa, 2010)

Most consecutive matches without a loss

12, Luiz Felipe Scolari (Brazil, 2002, 7 matches;  Portugal, 2006, 5 matches).

Youngest coach

27 years and 267 days, Juan José Tramutola (Argentina, 1930)

Oldest coach

71 years and 317 days, Otto Rehhagel (Greece, 2010)

Most championship wins as player and head coach

3, Mário Zagallo,  Brazil (1958 & 1962 as player, 1970 as coach)[19]

Most final appearances as player and head coach

5, Mário Zagallo,  Brazil (1958 & 1962 as player, 1970, 1974 & 1998 as coach); Franz Beckenbauer,  West Germany (1966–1974 as player, 1986 & 1990 as coach)

Won tournaments as both player and head coach

Mário Zagallo,  Brazil (1958 & 1962 as player, 1970 as coach); Franz Beckenbauer,  West Germany (1974 as player, 1990 as coach)

Youngest referee

24 years and 193 days, Juan Gardeazábal (Spain, 1958)

Oldest referee

56 years and 236 days, George Reader (England, 1950)

Most number of times World Cup has been hosted by a country

2,  Mexico 1970 & 1986,  Italy 1934 & 1990,  France 1938 & 1998,  Germany 1974 (as West Germany) & 2006.

Number of times host country has won World Cup

6,  Uruguay 1930,  Italy 1934,  England 1966,  West Germany 1974,  Argentina 1978,  France 1998

PS: The Host nation has always qualified from the Group Stage of the World Cup

No Host nation has ever lost their opening game of the World Cup

Records are made to be broken. Let us enjoy the quadrennial festival of football and look forward to more records to go down in history when some luck team lifts the World Cup.

Related posts:

  1. 2010 FIFA World Cup Stadiums
  2. DIY: Video Show of World Cup Encyclopedia

Reprint Policy:
All posts on this blog are created for non-profit sharing by the blogger staff of Moyea Software. You can reprint them without any fee, but are required to quote each source link on Moyea PowerPoint E-Learning Center ( and keep all original hyperlinks within.
canakkale masaj salonu corum masaj salonu yozgat masaj salonu edirne masaj salonu amasya masaj salonu gaziantep masaj salonu sanliurfa masaj salonu mersin masaj salonu diyarbakir masaj salonu hatay masaj salonu manisa masaj salonu
Escort Rize Escort Isparta Karabük Escort
tipobet tipobet365 sportotobet supertotobet betist kacak iddaa